It's April Fool's Day!

World Cupcakes 1Ok, I haven’t done a political post in a while, largely because I felt I needed to back off a bit. I mean really, I felt as though I were on fire at times! Then my mom hinted that I was becoming a politician, to which I responded (truthfully, from my point of view, anyway,) “No, I’m not, but everything in this country seems to go through politics, and therefore is that what I’m commenting on.” If you think that’s wrong or otherwise incorrect, feel free to let me know.

Besides, there is a long and very solid tradition of political commentary in my family on my father’s side, and for a while I actually felt connected to my ancestors through some of my posts. Perhaps it’s genetic.

Whatever the reason or the explanation, this is unabashedly a political post. You have been warned. 🙂

Ok, so it’s April Fool’s Day, and today we get to hear from the Republicans what they think the American budget should be for the next x years. The standard number for x is 10. However, let me back up a moment.

The First Bank of the United StatesIf you live in the U.S., you surely have heard about the “budget” they presented, with much fanfare a week ago today. Should that be the case, you will also know that the “left” panned it gleefully, calling it “incomplete homework” (to paraphrase MSNBC’s Keith Olberman: What are we supposed to do, compliment them for having a pretty folder?), a “joke”, and generally having a lot of “fun” (?) kicking the Republicans around over it.

If you don’t live in the U.S., let me describe this document:

  1. 19 pages
  2. Zero numbers

Let me recap: The “Budget Proposal” the Republicans introduced in a very public press conference, contained no numbers AT ALL, and could best be described as an outline of where they are going.

If you’re not laughing, or at least chuckling, then I haven’t explained it properly.

But wait! It gets better!

They will present their “real” budget plan (presumably including actual numbers) today.

April Fool’s Day.

(pause)

(pause)

(pause)

Yeah. That’s a great idea.

I´m Going To Have NightmaresLook, I’m not particularly superstitious or anything. However, I have never, EVER, heard of a legislative body presenting important legislation on the one day that is symbolic with frivolity.

Talk about shooting themselves in the foot.

Again.

We shall see.

This entry was posted in Politics, Rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

