NaBloPoMo Day 18: Shopping locally in Athens

Yesterday, I took the pledge to shop locally for the holidays.  Specifically, I pledged I would spend $100 of my holiday dollars right here in town.

Yesterday, I was thinking about electronic devices from cell phones to MP3 players, and realized I had no idea where one would find such a “local” business.  When I think electronics, names like Best Buy, Radio Shack, and even WalMart.  But if I want to keep with the pledge, the easiest and fastest way to do that is with electronics purchases.  So where do I go?

I did a little internet research and have called up each of the following companies.  Please understand that this is not an endorsement, only a fact-finding mission.  I wanted to know who sells what and where they are.

Doctor Audio, 275 Providence Rd, Athens, GA 30606 (706) 613-1886 

They sell car and home audio and video.  They also have a selection of cameras. The gentleman who answered the phone sounded harried, or maybe he was simply startled, or hates talking on the phone, so I didn’t get much information about the store.  If you know anything about them, I’d love to hear more, just use the comment form below.

Wuxtry Records, 197 E Clayton St, Athens, GA 30601 (706) 369-9428

Wuxtry is well known in town.  Their specialty is certainly not modern equipment: they only sell records (yes, records!) and turntables.  But for your music officionado who prefers the good old vinyl, Wuxtry is the place to go.

Peach Mac  1850 Epps Bridge Pkwy, Ste 207, Athens, GA 30606 (706) 208-9990

 Peach Mac has been in business since 2007.  As their name implies, they specialize in Mac/Apple products, from computers to iPod and iPads.  They also not strictly local, but they are a Georgia company.  That makes them the next best thing to “local”: the dollars remain in the state, at least.

As far as I can tell, that’s it!  Everyone else seems to do business computing, mostly repair, network installation, that kind of thing.  If you know of any other place in the Clarke County area, please share below.  I’d love to know where else I could go that isn’t a big box store, and I can’t afford Mac products anyway (which are my alternative).  Incidentally, I will take additional comments on computer stores, music and video, cameras, absolutely anything electronic.  Add in car audio if you like, why not?

Bonus: today I also took the pledge to shop small business on Small Business Saturday (hereby known as SBS), which is the Saturday right after the American Thanksgiving celebration.  This year, it falls on Saturday, November 26.  I think I’ll go buy some books at Avid Bookshop on that day.  The point is, SBS has a Facebook page with a very nice app that lets you find small businesses close to your zip code.  USE IT!  That is all.

This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, Personal, Shop Local, Sustainability. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaBloPoMo Day 18: Shopping locally in Athens

  1. That is something that I need to do.
    Local businesses need our help.

Leave a Reply

