NaBloPoMo Day 20: What did I want to talk about again?

Weekends are always interesting around here. It’s not that we do a lot, so much as I work that one overnight shift, which requires sleep management in order to navigate through the night without falling flat on my face, sound asleep.

Doing that on a concrete floor wouldn’t be a good idea.

I have to take a chance and confess that I once fell asleep for about 10 minutes in the bathroom.  That’s right, here I am simply going to the bathroom, and next thing I know I’m waking up from the shortest (and most efficient) power nap ever.  Fortunately, it was closer to the end of the shift and I didn’t have to count on that little itty bitty nap to carry me through, say, 4 or 5 more hours’ worth of work!  But boy did that feel strange!  Sometimes your body simply takes over and say “Nuh-uh, dummy, I need some sleep NOW!  GIMME!” and all you can do is give in.

Speaking of that overnight shift, I just remembered what I wanted to talk about: the strangeness of people after 3AM.

I live in a college town, one that is consistently voted among the top party cities in the country.  Given that fully a third of our average year round population consists of college students, I suppose that’s not entirely surprising.  This is especially true because the university is one of about three big employers in town.  In fact, life around here revolves some much around it, school schedules are built around the college’s schedule!  When they have a long break, lower grade levels also get a vacation.  And don’t even get me started on football rivalries: there’s one game every year, that weekend the kids get a long weekend, because too many people (parents and kids alike) skip town to go to that game.

It’s a big deal.

Anyway, on Saturday nights, the mood is either drunken festivity or quiet passivity, depending on how well the football team did that day.  In the years where the football team is racking up the points, such as this one, you are more likely to find people behaving strangely, coming to purchase food to fill the sudden void after all that drinking and partying.  Usually they are just half drunk youth coming to grab a pizza and some chips.  Occasionally, however, you meet the few who are out of touch with themselves or with the world and have fallen outside themselves.

The girl who found herself at the grocery store with no idea how to get home.  The guy who said his girlfriend dropped him off and drove away (probably because he was drunk enough to be obnoxious to her).  The guy who bought groceries (a lot of them!) but then got belligerent and had to be tasered and taken away by the police.  The occasionally mentally disturbed or unstablel; fortunately, the latter are rarely physically dangerous.

My point is, Saturday nights are almost always interesting, sometimes weirdly entertaining.  But they make Sundays ordeals of endurance, on the rare occasion where I feel the need to stay up for whatever reason, because I don’t always get a proper amount of sleep during the daytime hours before that shift.  Still, I look forward to the quietude of that overnight shift.  I’ve done some serious deep thinking during those hours, and I’m glad to have them.  Besides, there’s rarely a dull moment.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo Day 20: What did I want to talk about again?

  1. Brian Smith says:

    Those nights are always interesting, even more so when we work ’em together. 🙂

  2. Wow! Your Saturday nights are interesting.

Leave a Reply

