NaBloPoMo Day 23: OOPS! Almost forgot! but I have a good reason…

Hello NaBloPoMo Day 23!

I worked pretty darned hard today.  I stood at a register for 7 hours (minus the blessed 30 minute break).  That’s not necessarily unusual, except I got the toughest hours of the whole year: today, being the day before Thanksgiving, everybody and their brother (and their mother, father, sister, cousin, aunt and uncle) is rushing in to get their turkey, ham, stuffing mix, chicken stock, collard greens, pumpkin pie filling, pecans, ice cream, and goodness only knows what else for a meal they will spend half the night and all the morning cooking.  They will then proceed to eat this feast in about… an hour, (except the deserts, of course; those they will linger over all day while watching one or all three of tomorrow’s football games). Assuming all that turkey doesn’t put them to sleep, that is.

If you’re not exhausted reading all that, then I haven’t told it correctly.

I, of course, need to cook my own ham and macaroni and cheese casserole.  Tomorrow morning, my daughter and I will eat it, then… I will go back to work for the slowest shift of the year, while she hangs out with her daddy.  I will miss all the football games, and the joys of stuffing my face off and on all day, and the company of my daughters.

Anyway, while I was working today, I had a thought about work and customers and such.. but it got lost in all the bagging and rushing and laughing (oh yes, there was plenty of that too!) and well wishes delivered cheerfully: “Happy Thanksgiving! :D”  So, I think I’ll have to be content with this:

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo Day 23: OOPS! Almost forgot! but I have a good reason…

  1. And the same to you Cousin! Hugs and plenty of ❤ today!

Leave a Reply

