Tai’s Christmas wishlist 2011

I just got the oddest request for a Christmas present.  Well, maybe I shouldn’t say “odd”; it is, after all, Tai.  She’s smart and inquisitive, and therefore it really was only a matter of time.

Now I know some of the things that are really at the top of her list: Leap Pad items, a cell phone, a computer of her own or, better yet, a laptop of her own.  To all of which I, of course, said “Uh… I don’t think so!” Well, if I could, I’d do the Leap Pad items.  The rest however… foggetaboutit!

However, she surprised me just now with this.

“Mom, I want either an Atlas or an Almanac for Christmas.”

I was busy chatting with some friends, and for a moment that didn’t even register.  A few seconds later, the word “almanac” sunk into my brain.  “You want a what?” I asked, surprised but still a touch distracted.

“An atlas, or an almanac.”

This time my brain latched onto the word “Atlas”.  I started typing “Amazon.com” into my web browser.  “An atlas or a what?” I asked again, this time incredulous.  It was finally dawning on me what my daughter was asking for, and I didn’t know what to make of it.  I was thinking an atlas would make a fine present indeed.

Then I saw the prices.

Hardcover atlases are pretty expensive.  I discovered they could be truly outrageously expensive ($140+?  Really?  Do they serve you a nice cup of tea on a chilly day?), but the kid versions, such as the Essential Atlas of the World,
can be found for under $20.  Now I know what I’ll get at Avid Bookshop.  Hurrah!  I knew I wanted to buy her a present from there, but had no idea what it would be.  Now I know.

As for the almanac idea, if I can I might try that too. Maybe the National Geographic Kids Almanac 2012.

I’m taking donations.

Or you can purchase directly and send as a gift.  Just let me know it’s coming.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

