NaBloPoMo Day 29: I found the old Brown Study!

I cannot believe my luck!  I found the database information from the original Brown Study.  It’s in a barely human-readable format called “SQL”, a database organization model that stores all kinds of information, from login information (encrypted, of course) to… blog posts!

There’s a problem, however.  The tool to import blogs from other platforms can’t handle SQL files. So now I have to figure out how to convert the one to the other.  This is likely to be a tedious process at best.  I hate proprietary software and tools!  They complicate life dramatically.

In addition, if I remember correctly, this file not only contains the Brown Study but a few other blogs I was hosting on the same site: I was anticipating an upcoming move of my domain to another web host, which never happened for lack of funds.  This complicates matters tremendously, as I have  more than half a dozen sites; detangling all that could be just as time-consuming as figuring out how to convert this file to something wordpress.com understands.

I don’t intend to rush through this, so don’t expect a whole lot of gaps to be filled in this blog, but perhaps I’ll get done by the end of the year.

You think?

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

